Day Four: Family Media Detox

Missy’s update:

September 4th, 2010

Day 4 found us hitting the ground running!  (I’m noting a tiring theme so far this month!)  Jamie and Hannah have piano lessons on Saturday mornings, and Jamie threw in an art lesson too, just so we wouldn’t get bored.  While Jamie was painting, I took the rest of the kids to the park in Alexis, where I can’t help but stop at the Cardinal Convenience store.

Usually I just use the bathroom, then buy a bottle of V-8 and a bag of popcorn while I’m there, but today I also took a lengthy phone call from a man in Mediapolis who might be interested in buying our camper!  (Praying…praying hard!)

When we finally made it home (after topping off our morning with a journey through Save a Lot for groceries), I decided that a trip to the Henderson County Public Library was in order.  A solitary trip.  It’s so quiet there.

Meanwhile, back at Stately Bennett Manor, the kids had succumbed to their genetic predisposition to competitive charades!  And the competition was heated!

I made homemade lasagna and a beautiful salad, which the three youngest kids ate almost single-handedly.  They love salad!

In the meantime, everyone got a bath, whether he/she needed one or not…and they all needed it!  And Grace and I won some new used clothes on e-bay!  So soon, both of us will be able to start going places that have a “no shirt, no shoes, no service” sign!  That’ll be great.

2 responses to “Day Four: Family Media Detox

  1. Hi Guys!
    I’ve been following your blog via FB, and I just wanted to say that I think what you’re doing is very admirable. It seems like the kids are really embracing the concept as well, which is great. Way to go!

    In other news, you both look fantastic. 🙂 Watching the videos has made me a bit homesick…love hearing and seeing you on here.

    Love you!

  2. Just found your site! Cool. Look forward to following you guys this month!

Leave a Reply

