Day 13: Family Media Detox

Jim’s update:

As we near the end of our second week with no TV, no movies, no video games, no social networking and no mp3 players, I am thinking about one of the few television shows that I watched regularly.  It’s a smartly written and often hilarious comedy program and I watched every episode of the first five seasons.

The clarity that this experiment has brought me has allowed me to assess just how appropriate it is for me, as a Christian, to soak my mind in such fare. For all of its artistic excellence, this program is like almost every other contemporary TV comedy:  It features story lines that normalize and even glorify fornication, unmarried cohabitation, and other forms of sexual immorality; the characters use occasional profanity;  the humor is often coarse and demeaning (especially to women, motherhood, and, on at least one episode, Christians.)

Over our doorpost Missy has hung a framed print-out of Philippians 4:8:

Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.

How can I honor God and edify myself by polluting my spirit with such content and taking delight in it?  Obviously, I can’t.  I can find nothing that is honest, just, pure, lovely, virtuous, or praiseworthy in it.

Romans 12:2 counsels the followers of Christ to “be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what [is] that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.”

I want and need all of of that mind-renewal stuff I can get.  Bring it on, Lord!

3 responses to “Day 13: Family Media Detox

  1. A very challenging idea in this day and time.. I recently have spent this last week ‘de-toxing’ from my iPhone games. Just TOO convenient for my own good! So I banned myself during the week-days during daylight hours. I replaced the urge with prayers and more reading Scripture. God Bless!

  2. Daniel is an awesome dancer! I had no idea! That end section is awesome! Lol Also, at any point during your hunting excursion, did you sing “This is What it Sounds Like When Doves Cry?”

Leave a Reply

